Country Roads Moving, LLC
FMCSA registrant: COUNTRY ROADS MOVING LLC
USDOT 3094022 · FMCSA SAFER · observed
Customers describe interstate moves in 2026; its federal registration is intrastate-only and is not authorized for interstate household goods
What we found
Report assembled Oct 13, 2026 · Source observations are dated below- SERIOUSCustomers describe interstate moves in 2026; its federal registration is intrastate-only and is not authorized for interstate household goods
Its website text promotes local moves in North Central West Virginia (About Us and Packages pages, captured 2026-10-09). Customer reviews describe the company moving them across state lines in 2026: from Morgantown, WV to Ladson, SC (Kathleen Knight, Google, 2026-07-29; the same review appeared in the testimonial widget on the company's own website, captured 2026-08-29), to North Carolina (Judy Efaw, Google, 2026-06-17), and from Bridgeport, WV to Frostburg, MD (Frank Mallo, Google, 2026-05-28). Another review describes the crew loading a customer's rented truck for a cross-country move (Christopher Wold, Google, 2026-09-13), and one describes a move within Pennsylvania (Matthew Pellillo, Google, 2026-07-29). FMCSA's records for USDOT 3094022, read 2026-10-09, show intrastate operation, household-goods authority MC73556 Inactive, and operating-authority status NOT AUTHORIZED.
These are customer accounts, not official records. They do not establish which carrier's authority each move ran under or whether another, authorized carrier transported it, and this report does not conclude that any move was unlawful.
A move across state lines needs a carrier with active federal household-goods authority; this registration does not have it.
Before booking: For a move across state lines, ask for the legal name, USDOT and MC numbers of the carrier that will transport it, confirm its active household-goods authority, and make sure that carrier is named on the bill of lading.
Source: Company website: About Us · Company website: Packages · FMCSA MOTUS carrier record, USDOT 3094022 · Google reviews, newest-first sample (Kathleen Knight 2026-07-29, Judy Efaw 2026-06-17, Christopher Wold 2026-09-13, Matthew Pellillo 2026-07-29) · Google reviews, lowest-rated-first sample (Frank Mallo, 2026-05-28) · Company website testimonial widget showing the Morgantown, WV to Ladson, SC review · as of Oct 9, 2026
- PROBLEM1 consumer complaint filed with FMCSA in the last four years
FMCSA's National Consumer Complaint Database (via the Protect Your Move registry) — by year: 2026: 1 (registry data as of 09/25/2026). Categories: Operating Authority 1. Separately, the registry reports a fleet snapshot of 6 trucks, 0 tractors, 0 trailers; this does not measure moves completed during the complaint period.
Source: FMCSA Protect Your Move — complaint history · as of Oct 13, 2026
- PROBLEMOnly free-mail business addresses captured on the examined pages
crmovingwv@gmail.com — the examined pages did not provide a mailbox on the company's own domain (crmovingwv.com). Other pages or mailboxes were not ruled out.
Source: company website · as of Oct 13, 2026
- PROBLEM8 of the 14 dated BBB reviews we read were posted on the same day (2024-05-01)
We read 14 reviews across BBB; one signal stands out — 8 of the 14 dated BBB reviews we read were posted on the same day (2024-05-01). Read the cited reviews yourself. Clustering in review dates is a timing observation. Timing alone does not establish whether reviews are authentic or fabricated, or whether the business engaged in fraud.
Source: BBB review — Cheri G · BBB review — Andrew P · BBB review — Robert K · BBB listing · as of Oct 13, 2026
- PROBLEMSome Google reviewers allege damaged belongings, incomplete work and unanswered calls; many other reviews in the sample are favorable.
Google shows 4.9 stars from 781 reviews (observed 2026-10-09). We read a selected sample of 97 records, the 60 newest and the 60 lowest-rated deduplicated, including 20 owner replies. Favorable reviews in the sample describe care, punctuality, professionalism and repeat customers. Allegations in low-rated reviews include: Casey Kennedy (1 star, 2026-09-18) writes of paying over $4,800 for 2.5 days of work and having only 2/3 of their belongings, and advises against paying the company to pack; no business response appears in the retrieved sample. Matthew Hoalcraft (2 stars, 2025-09-02) alleges the crew broke a bed, forgot their contract, charged full price and did not follow up; the owner replied that the crew did forget the contract that day, and that the customer said they understood the damage, required no price or liability adjustment and signed a statement addressing it. Other low-rated reviews allege damaged furniture or broken items (Dustin Harris, 2021-07-14, about a packing job; Shirley Schreiber, 2024-04-02, who writes that the owner promised to make minimal amends; Bridget Bailey, 2024-08-09, who also says belongings were left behind and a $100 refund was not a satisfactory resolution; Ross Bailey, 2025-08-27) and calls or messages that went unanswered (Steven Gower, 2023-03-19; Jeremy Bash, 2023-03-27). The owner replied to Ross Bailey (saying the reviewer's name was not in the customer log), Steven Gower (citing phone-system problems at the time) and Jeremy Bash (an apology); no business response appears in the sample for Dustin Harris, Shirley Schreiber or Bridget Bailey.
These are reviewers' allegations from a selected sample (97 unique records of 781, chosen as the newest and the lowest-rated), not a random or complete set, so the sample over-represents complaints and its star mix does not describe all Google reviews. Contracts, invoices and outcomes were not verified, and no review establishes legal liability.
Before booking, get the rate, minimum charge, packing scope and damage-claim terms in writing, and keep a copy of the signed agreement.
Source: Google listing, Country Roads Moving LLC (4.9 / 781) · Google reviews, 60 lowest-rated sample (Hoalcraft, Harris, Schreiber, Bailey, Gower, Bash and owner replies) · Google reviews, 60 newest sample (Casey Kennedy, 2026-09-18) · as of Oct 9, 2026
- COULD NOT VERIFYMOTUS returned one $750,000 insurance filing, effective and received 2024-08-27, with no cancellation date on that filing.
FMCSA's MOTUS record for USDOT 3094022 (read 2026-10-09) lists one insurance filing on household-goods authority MC73556: policy CA980631831, received and effective 2024-08-27, maximum coverage $750,000, cancellation date blank; the response names no insurer. Full historical filing and cancellation data was not retrieved from the FMCSA Licensing & Insurance portal, which presented a challenge question and reCAPTCHA on 2026-10-09; no bypass was attempted.
No complete-history or lifetime-no-cancellations conclusion; current on-file coverage does not restore inactive interstate authority.
Before booking: Request current coverage documentation and verify directly with the insurer for the proposed service.
Source: FMCSA MOTUS carrier record, USDOT 3094022 (insurance filings) · FMCSA Licensing & Insurance carrier search, USDOT 3094022 (challenge presented) · as of Oct 9, 2026
- NOTESays “licensed and insured” — prints no licence number
“now operating as a licensed and insured moving company equipped to handle local moves of any size”. No USDOT, MC or state licence number appears anywhere in the site text we read.
West Virginia Code § 24A-1-3(14): this state issues no household-goods mover licence to check. Its federal registration is USDOT 3094022 (active); the website prints no number for it.
Source: company website · as of Oct 13, 2026
- ON RECORDNo active federal operating authority
MC73556 Household Goods — INACTIVE. SAFER operating-authority status: NOT AUTHORIZED.
This federal observation does not determine eligibility for in-state moves; see the state licence check.
Source: Captured FMCSA record · Captured FMCSA record · as of Oct 13, 2026
- ON RECORDWest Virginia Secretary of State Business Organization Search: COUNTRY ROADS MOVING, LLC — “status not printed”
West Virginia Secretary of State Business Organization Search lists COUNTRY ROADS MOVING, LLC (373388), LLC | Limited Liability Company with status “not printed”, formed 2017-11-29. Officers/managers listed: [name withheld] (Member); [name withheld] (Member); [name withheld]. (Organizer). A business registration is not a mover licence.
Tied to this business by exact name, address and a named officer or agent.
Source: West Virginia Secretary of State Business Organization Search · as of Oct 9, 2026
- ON RECORDEvery exposed BBB review and complaint record was read: 14 reviews, 0 public complaints
Reviews 2024-05-01 to 2024-05-25. BBB reports 0 complaints; no public complaint narratives were available to read. Complete retrieval of the exposed record is not proof the reviews are authentic or that nothing was removed.
Source: BBB profile · BBB complaints · as of Oct 9, 2026
- ON RECORDWest Virginia Code § 24A-1-3(14) exempts household-goods carriers and vehicles from that chapter.
The official West Virginia Code (read 2026-10-09) says “The provisions of this chapter, except where specifically otherwise provided, do not apply to” “(14) Common carriers or contract carriers engaged in the business of transporting household goods and motor vehicles used exclusively in the transportation of household goods”. There is therefore no household-goods carrier licence under that chapter to check for this company, and older Public Service Commission household-goods certificates are not a basis to say it is missing a current state mover certification.
This exemption is separate from federal interstate authority, general entity registration, insurance or compliance with other applicable law.
Before booking: Check the authority appropriate to the proposed move.
Source: West Virginia Code § 24A-1-3, Exemptions from chapter · as of Oct 9, 2026
- ON RECORDA second inactive federal registration, USDOT 4500821, uses the same legal name, business phone, email, address and [name withheld] owner name.
FMCSA's MOTUS record for USDOT 4500821 (read 2026-10-09) lists COUNTRY ROADS MOVING LLC at 1801 MORGANTOWN AVE, FAIRMONT, WV 26554-3306, phone 3048868380 and email crmovingwv@gmail.com, with [name withheld] as owner-operator. Its DOT status is Inactive, it lists no operating authorities, and the record carries a disable date of 2026-01-20. FMCSA's SAFER snapshot for USDOT 4500821 (read 2026-10-09) returns “Record Inactive”. The primary registration remains USDOT 3094022: MOTUS (read 2026-10-09) shows that DOT number Active, with household-goods authority MC73556 Inactive.
Multiple records do not establish evasion, fraud or the reason for registration changes.
It provides no alternate active operating authority.
Before booking: For any interstate service, identify the actual transporting carrier and verify its current HHG authority.
Source: FMCSA MOTUS carrier record, USDOT 4500821 · FMCSA SAFER company snapshot, USDOT 4500821 · FMCSA MOTUS carrier record, USDOT 3094022 (primary registration) · as of Oct 9, 2026
- CHECKS OUTBBB rating A+ (not accredited)
BBB profile on file.
A BBB letter grade is BBB's own assessment; it is not an endorsement, a licence check or a clearance of the company.
Source: BBB profile · as of Oct 13, 2026
What kind of company is this?
The captured federal record lists a carrier role. This alone does not establish current interstate household-goods authority or guarantee who will perform your move.
The captured federal record reports in-state operation. This is a declared operating scope, not verification of a state license. See the separate licensing checks.
Fleet size reported in federal filings.
What we checked
- Federal operating authority (FMCSA)No active federal authority captured. Observed Oct 13, 2026. Carrier, broker and freight-forwarder authority are separate categories. This federal result does not determine its eligibility for in-state moves; see the separate state-registry check.
- Federal interstate household-goods carrier authorityThe captured FMCSA record does not show interstate household-goods carrier authority. Observed Oct 13, 2026. This does not rule out separate broker authority; see the category-specific federal dockets. It does not determine eligibility for in-state moves or another operating carrier.
- State household-goods licenceWest Virginia does not license household-goods movers. West Virginia exempts household-goods carriers from Public Service Commission regulation, so no state mover licence exists. (Source last read Aug 20, 2026.)
- Federal insurance statusThese amounts belong to inactive federal authority dockets. They do not confirm current liability or cargo coverage. As observed Oct 13, 2026; confirm current coverage before booking.
- Cancelled or revoked insurance filing on record1 cancelled or revoked insurance filing on record with FMCSA. Review the filing dates and reasons. This history does not by itself mean the company is currently uninsured. One cancellation left no filing of the same coverage in effect on the cancellation date (CARGO cancelled 2025-09-24, no later filing of that coverage on record through 2026-05-14). FMCSA’s authority history also records 1 revocation or suspension order (INVOLUNTARY REVOCATION, served 2025-08-28, effective 2025-09-30) and 1 authority action with a revocation, suspension or out-of-service disposition (GRANTED served 2018-07-17, disposition REVOKED decided 2025-09-30). FMCSA's open data shows this USDOT's filing history only up to 2026-05-14: the legacy L&I files stopped updating that day, and the MOTUS files, which hold later changes, list no record for this USDOT. A filing change after 2026-05-14 was not available when checked.
- Review ratings compared across sourcesStar ratings are within 0.1 stars of each other across 3 review sources, each with at least 10 reviews.
- Address and operating-location evidenceProperty use and a customer-accessible operating facility have not been established. A registered address, mailing address and local office can serve different purposes.
Address use and operating locations
A registered office, mailing address and operating facility can be different places. Residential or mailbox use alone does not establish improper operation.
No current source-backed property-use determination is available. This is a verification gap, not proof of a false address or a verified operating facility.
FMCSA regulatory snapshot
- Authority status
What does this mean?
Federal operating authority is category-specific: carrier, broker and freight-forwarder roles are separate. An active registration or one active role does not establish household-goods carrier authority. Operating restrictions are checked separately. - No active federal authority capturedObserved Oct 13, 2026
- Carrier operation
What does this mean?
This carrier is registered to operate only within one state. Federal interstate authority does not apply to intrastate-only carriers, which is why federal insurance and authority status fields may show as "Not Specified" or "Not Authorized." - Intrastate Only (Non-hazardous materials)
- Interstate HHG carrier authority
What does this mean?
"HHG" means Household Goods. This field checks interstate carrier authority, not separate broker authority. A "No" here does not rule out broker authority; consult the category-specific federal dockets below. - No — not shown in the captured recordObserved Oct 13, 2026
- Operating status
What does this mean?
This means the company's USDOT registration is active in the FMCSA database. It does NOT mean the company is authorized to operate as a federal interstate mover. See "Authority status" above for that. A carrier can have an ACTIVE USDOT registration but still not be authorized to do interstate moves. - ACTIVE
- Trucks
What does this mean?
FMCSA calls these "power units", meaning trucks, tractors, and other registered moving vehicles the carrier owns or leases. - 6
- Drivers
What does this mean?
Drivers the carrier has registered with FMCSA. This is the official number; some carriers operate with more drivers than registered. - 11
- Insurance status
- —
- Safety rating
What does this mean?
FMCSA only assigns a safety rating after conducting a Compliance Review (a formal on-site audit). Most carriers have never been audited. About 90% of registered carriers carry no rating. "Not rated" is normal; it does not mean the carrier failed an audit or is unsafe. It only means an audit has not happened. - Not rated
- DOT complaints (FMCSA)
- 1 consumer complaint on fileBy year: 2026: 1 · registry data as of Sep 25, 2026 · FMCSA complaint historyOperating Authority (1)
- FMCSA enforcement & investigations
- No enforcement cases (six years) · SMS record
- Physical address
- 1801 MORGANTOWN AVE, FAIRMONT, WV 26554-3306
- Operating authority dockets
- InactiveMC73556Motor Carrier of Household Goods
A company can hold several federal dockets over its lifetime. Only an Active docket grants operating authority. An inactive one is history, not a violation.
State household-goods licence
In-state moves are governed by the state, not the FMCSA.
State business entity record
West Virginia Secretary of State Business Organization Search · checked Oct 9, 2026. A business-entity registration is separate from federal moving authority and from a state mover licence.
- Entity name
- COUNTRY ROADS MOVING, LLC
- Status
- Not stated on the record
- Entity type
- LLC | Limited Liability Company
- Entity ID
- 373388
- Formation date
- Nov 29, 2017
- Registered agent
- Not stated on the record
- Officers
- 3 officers are named on the register; names and roles are in the full report.
- How it was tied to this business
- By the exact name, the same address and an officer or owner named on this company’s records.
- Source
- West Virginia Secretary of State Business Organization Search record · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Limitation: Business registration is not a mover licence.
- Limitation: The register's detail page does not display a status word, registered-agent label/value, or an as-of/last-updated record date; those fields are therefore null.
- Limitation: The register printed the organization's effective date and filing date as 11/29/2017, but no established date; the effective date is reported as the formation date.
- Limitation: The register printed the member name as [name withheld], while the supplied federal-record name was [name withheld]; no identity inference was made.
- Limitation: Exact searches for the supplied review-text strings and the singular 'Country Road Moving' returned zero records. The exact comma-form legal name and the partial 'Country Roads Moving' search returned the one record above.
- Limitation: An active registered agent does not make a defaulted company active; the status word is the register's own.
Reviews and complaints — every platform we check
Listings are matched using company names, addresses, phone numbers and websites. Reviews belong to the business or location shown.
Listing matched to this business.
Source checked Oct 13, 2026
Listing matched to this business.
Source checked Oct 13, 2026
Listing matched to this business.
Source checked Oct 13, 2026
Source checked Oct 13, 2026
Detailed listing checks and review analysis are included in the full report.
Verified customer experience reports
Structured accounts from customers who proved their move with a bill of lading or final invoice, a verified email, and a verified phone. No star ratings, no anonymous reviews, and nothing a company can pay to change — how this works.
No verified customer reports yet. Only customers who can document their move may submit one — that keeps the count honest, and it means it grows slowly.
Moved with Country Roads Moving, LLC? — you will need your bill of lading or final invoice, and a phone that can receive a code.
Work at Country Roads Moving, LLC? Claim this profile to respond publicly to reports. Claiming is free and never changes the records on this page.
The full verification report
Each section of the full report names its sources: official federal and state records, the company's own website, review platforms and other public pages. Access requires a one-time fee, shown at checkout.
Research coverage
What this report checked, source by source. Coverage describes the scope of the report; it does not grade the company. A search with no match applies only to the named source, date and recorded scope; it does not establish that no cases exist.
Checked 14 of 15 applicable sources. Not available when checked: FMCSA insurance filings.
| Source | Status | Date | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Company identity | Checked — record readFederal registration USDOT 3094022 corroborated (a USDOT number recorded for this business, re-matched by phone or email). | — | — |
| Company website | Checked — record read4 page(s) of the company website read. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| FMCSA registration (SAFER and MOTUS) | Checked — record readSAFER and MOTUS records read for the verified USDOT. | Oct 13, 2026 | — |
| FMCSA complaint history | Checked — record readProtect Your Move complaint history read. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| FMCSA safety record (SMS) | Checked — record readSMS inspections, crashes and enforcement cases read. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| FMCSA insurance filings | Not available when checkedFMCSA Licensing & Insurance open data (data.transportation.gov), read 2026-10-13 for USDOT 3094022 (MC73556); the legacy L&I files are frozen at 2026-05-14 and the MOTUS files are as of 2026-10-12 (no MOTUS file holds a record for this USDOT): 5 insurance filings from 5 filing records (4 replaced, 1 cancelled); of the 1 cancelled filing, 1 had no filing of the same coverage in effect on the cancellation date; 0 filings listed as active or pending in the MOTUS insurance file and 1 only in the frozen L&I active/pending file; 1 authority action; 1 action with a revocation, suspension or out-of-service disposition; 1 revocation or suspension order. FMCSA's open data shows this USDOT's filing history only up to 2026-05-14: the legacy L&I files stopped updating that day, and the MOTUS files, which hold later changes, list no record for this USDOT. A filing change after 2026-05-14 was not available when checked. MOTUS lists dated filing records: 1 filing(s) for MC73556; BIPD $750,000 on file of $750,000. These records do not by themselves confirm current coverage; the recorded authority dockets are inactive. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| State business entity register | Checked — record readWest Virginia Secretary of State Business Organization Search: COUNTRY ROADS MOVING, LLC — status not printed. | Oct 9, 2026 | View source |
| State mover licence | Not applicableNo state household-goods mover licence applies. W. Va. Code § 24A-1-3(14), read on the official code site on 2026-10-09: “The provisions of this chapter, except where specifically otherwise provided, do not apply to” “(14) Common carriers or contract carriers engaged in the business of transporting household goods and motor vehicles used exclusively in the transportation of household goods”. Older Public Service Commission household-goods certificates are not a basis to say this company is missing a current state mover certification. This exemption is separate from federal interstate authority, general entity registration, insurance or compliance with other applicable law. | Oct 9, 2026 | View source |
| Checked — record readgoogle: listing identity confirmed by phone, website. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source | |
| Yelp | Checked — record readyelp: listing identity confirmed by phone. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| BBB | Checked — record readbbb: listing identity confirmed by phone, website. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| BBB complaints and reviews in full | Checked — record readEvery exposed BBB page retained: 14/14 reviews, 0/0 public complaints. | Oct 9, 2026 | View source |
| Trustpilot | Checked — no match in the recorded scopetrustpilot: bounded search found no matching listing; this is not proof none exists. | Oct 13, 2026 | View source |
| Phone, address and identifier search | Checked — record read6 identifier search(es) without the company name; 45 lead(s), 6 under another name. | Oct 9, 2026 | — |
| Related entities | Checked — record readOther-name leads evaluated by the linkage engine and the follow-up lane. | Oct 9, 2026 | — |
| Follow-up on unresolved leads | Checked — record read2 follow-up question(s) researched; 2 remain unresolved or only partly resolved. | Oct 13, 2026 | — |
Ledger evaluated Oct 13, 2026.
Report assembled Oct 13, 2026. First published Oct 12, 2026. This report pulls from 343 pieces of information across federal, state, review, and identity sources. Check each source's date for when its information was observed.
NMB does not invent facts. When a section reads "—" or "this check has not run yet," that means we have not been able to verify the information from a primary source. It does not mean the answer is good or bad.
Spotted something off?